Get inspired!

Welcome to the Martin Ennals Award 2022 edition, celebrating exceptional human rights defenders. The Martin Ennals Award Laureates 2022 are leading architects of the human rights movement. Get inspired by their courage and unique contributions at the Award Ceremony on

2 June 2022

at the Salle Communale de Plainpalais, Rue de Carouge 52, 1205 Geneva.

Learn more


human rights defenders

The Martin Ennals Award is an annual prize for human rights defenders. Finalists and the Laureate are selected by a Jury of ten of the world’s leading human rights NGOs. The Award provides protection and support to human rights defenders who are at risk.

The Jury

The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders (MEA) is a unique collaboration
among ten of the world’s leading human rights organizations with the aim of  
providing protection to human rights defenders worldwide.

“We’re dealing with generations of people who know only to force their way through the system”

– Mona Seif | EGYPT | 2013 Finalist


Every year, three Finalists for the Martin Ennals Award are selected by a Jury composed
of ten of the world’s leading human rights NGOs.