Martin Ennals

Award 2023


Nominations for the Martin Ennals Award 2023 are now open!

The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders honors individuals and organizations who have shown exceptional commitment to defending human rights, despite the risks involved. 

The promotion and defense of human rights by activists plays a decisive role in many countries where they promote the search for justice, peace, and equity for all.

The Martin Ennals Award aims to support the tireless struggles of these men and women.

To qualify for the Award, the nominees must:

  • Be currently active in the promotion and protection of human rights
  • Not employ or advocate violence
  • Not be self-nominated
  • Be in need of protection

Post-humous nominations are not eligible. Nominees must also read and acknowledge the Martin Ennals Foundation Ethical Guidelines.


Nominate your human rights champion now by filling out the nomination form
(available in ENGLISH, FRENCH, SPANISH, ARABIC) and send it to


The Martin Ennals Award is a unique collaboration between ten of the world’s leading human rights organizations, who form the independent Jury that selects winners of the Award.

In the first half of each year, a nomination cycle takes place over several months, at the end of which the three winners of the Martin Ennals Award — or Laureates — are selected by the Jury. The name of the three Laureates will be publicly announced in early 2023.

Learn more about the nomination process and our ethical guidelines here: